PowerShell for Windows Admins

May 6 2015   7:08AM GMT

WMF 5.0 April 2015 preview – – software inventory logging

Richard Siddaway Richard Siddaway Profile: Richard Siddaway

Tags:
Powershell

A software inventory module is now included with the April 2015 WMF 5.0 preview

£> Get-Command -Module SoftwareInventoryLogging | select Name

Name
—-
Get-SilComputer
Get-SilComputerIdentity
Get-SilData
Get-SilLogging
Get-SilSoftware
Get-SilUalAccess
Get-SilWindowsUpdate
Publish-SilData
Set-SilLogging
Start-SilLogging
Stop-SilLogging

Windows updates are always a good place to start poking into your systems

£> Get-Command Get-SilWindowsUpdate -Syntax

Get-SilWindowsUpdate [[-ID] <string[]>] [-CimSession <CimSession[]>]
[-ThrottleLimit <int>] [-AsJob] [<CommonParameters>]

£> Get-SilWindowsUpdate
ID          : KB3055381
InstallDate : 4/30/2015

etc

The parameters for Get-SilWindowsUpdate look like those I’d expect from a CDXML module. Inspection of C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\modules\SoftwareInventoryLogging\

shows  a number of cdxml files

MsftSil_Computer.cdxml
MsftSil_ComputerIdentity.cdxml
MsftSil_Data.cdxml
MsftSil_ManagementTasks.psm1
MsftSil_Software.cdxml
MsftSil_UalAccess.cdxml
MsftSil_WindowsUpdate.cdxml
Msft_MiStreamTasks.cdxml

The WMF 5,0 release notes supply a link to further data of software inventory logging – interestingly its flagged as a Windows Server 2012 R2 page.

Trying the cmdlet against a Windows Server 2012 R2 system running WMF 4.0 (with the November 2014 roll up)

$cs = New-CimSession -ComputerName W12R2SUS
Get-SilWindowsUpdate -CimSession $cs

£> Get-SilWindowsUpdate -CimSession $cs
ID             : KB3006193
InstallDate    : 1/5/2015
PSComputerName : W12R2SUS

etc

This means the class is on our Windows Server 2012 R2 box so we could use it directly

£> Get-CimInstance -Namespace root/InventoryLogging -ClassName  MsftSil_WindowsUpdate | Format-Table -a

ID                  InstallDate                                PSComputerName
—                   ———–                                 ————–
KB3006193 1/5/2015 12:00:00 AM
KB2894856 9/14/2014 12:00:00 AM

etc

This module supplies a useful way to find out the software installed on our systems – I’ll be digging into this over a few more posts

 Comment on this Post

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when other members comment.

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

Share this item with your network: