How to disable user login during AS/400 backup

Tags:
AS/400 backup
During backup, how I can disable login by any user. I do not want to disable any user profile.
0

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

Discuss This Question: 6  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.
  • TheRealRaven
    For interactive logons, end interactive subsystems. For batch servers, end the host and TCP/IP servers that you want restricted. Use the ENDHOSTSVR and ENDTCPSVR commands to end the servers, and STRHOSTSVR and STRTCPSVR to start them back up.

    You could, of course, set the STATUS(*DISABLED) attribute of any user profiles that are to be restricted and set the STATUS(*ENABLED) attribute for them all after backups end. However, that won't affect jobs that are currently active. You'd also need to track the list of users.
    36,420 pointsBadges:
    report
  • ToddN2000
    You could also end the subsystem (ENDSBS) that the users are logging into, most likely QINTER.
    135,485 pointsBadges:
    report
  • pdraebel
    Ending Host and TCP server would restrict access for interactive users. I am not sure whether you would want to End the QZDASOINIT prestart jobs as well as these provide ODBC access to your machine.
    7,545 pointsBadges:
    report
  • TheRealRaven
    For most newer systems, ending host & TCP/IP servers will effectively restrict interactive access; but it can't be certain for a system without knowing specifics. Any system with a twin-ax workstation controller, for example, can have interactive users even when TCP/IP itself is ended.

    Control of interactive subsystems is more certain when the system environment isn't known, but it's worth keeping the effects of ending the server jobs in mind.
    36,420 pointsBadges:
    report
  • ToddN2000
    What type of backup are you doing, system back or custom? If it is a matter of users preventing the file from being backed up you can allocate the object. System backups should be done in a restricted state. Can you explain what you are looking to accomplish?
    135,485 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Splat
    Why do you want to prevent users from logging in?

    If it's to prevent objects from being locked you can do as ToddN2000 suggested and allocate the objects prior to backing them up or you can make use of the SAVACT parameter on the save command(s) you're using.

    If it's not an issue with object availability what is the need to block user access?


    12,915 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following

Share this item with your network: