Gmail on my Apple Mail Client vs. Webmail

Tags:
Apple Mail
Gmail
Hello, I use the APPLE MAIL client on my PowerBook laptop and I have two Gmail accounts attached to it. When I get my email on my laptop from Gmail, I always categorize everything in regards to saving my wanted email for future reference in multiple folders that I've created on the laptop. If I go on the web and delete all my "sent" emails, will that delete anything from my laptop at all? Thank you very much. Keith Garcia
0

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

Discuss This Question: 2  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.
  • clark445kent
    Hi, It depends on your Mac mail configuration for Gmail. If you are using Pop3 configuration and sent mails using the Mac Mail client then don’t worry about your email, because they are saved in your local machine after deleting from the web. If you are using IMAP configuration, in this situation if you delete sent items from the web then all sent messages from the laptop are also deleted. I hope this information will be helpful for you.
    8,235 pointsBadges:
    report
  • TheRealRaven
    Deleting from Gmail usually causes items to move to a 'Trash' folder. The handling of 'Trash' can depend on how you configure both your IMAP client and Gmail itself.

    Also, there are two more or less separate 'Trash' (and most/all other) folders when using Gmail. I'm not at all sure how this part works, but it results in a resistance to permanent deletion. So, there is a 'Trash' folder as well as an 'All/Trash' folder.

    I quit using POP many years ago, much preferring IMAP. (Though POP3 gets closer.) I'm not sure how it appears to work under POP3. With IMAP, I can delete from 'Sent' with the Gmail web interface, and then open an email client and still find the item in 'All/Trash' even if my client auto-cleans my 'Trash' folder.
    36,440 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following

Share this item with your network: