After Saving your first file as a .html by choosing it from the drop down menu and not typing it in – it will appear there by default the next time. This is as long as your profile writes back to the system and is not discarded on log-out.
THAT is a no brainer. Unfortunately when you want to save it as something else it defaults back to html again. I need a better idea.