IT Governance, Risk, and Compliance

Aug 16 2011   7:55PM GMT

An Overview of IT Service Delivery and Support – Part VI

Robert Davis Robert Davis Profile: Robert Davis

As discussed in IT Service Management and IT Governance: Review, Comparative Analysis and their Impact on Utility Computing, when evolving from technology providers into strategic partners, IT organizational units generally fellow a three stage systematic approach: IT infrastructure management (ITIM), IT service management (ITSM), then IT Governance (ITG). Starting with ITIM, each subsequent evolutionary stage builds upon previously established constructs.

During the first deployment stage, an entity’s IT units primarily focus on improving ITIM with effectiveness measurements — usually based on maximizing return on computing assets as well as infrastructure control. Thereafter, the second deployment stage, ITSM, promotes entity IT units actively identifying services customers need; then focusing on planning and delivering defined services to meet availability, performance, as well as security requirements. When IT units evolve to the third deployment stage, ITG, there is a transformation into true business partners enabling new business opportunities for the entity.

View Part I of the An Overview of IT Service Delivery and Support series here

 Comment on this Post

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when other members comment.

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

Share this item with your network: