The iSeries Blog

Sep 17 2009   1:45PM GMT

The System i five-layer cake: Yum

Mark Fontecchio Mark Fontecchio Profile: Mark Fontecchio

IBM i Chief Architect Steve Will has a post describing the five integral layers of the System i operating system, formerly called i5/OS. They are:

  1. Integrated Middleware
  2. “The” Operating System
  3. Technology Independent Machine Interface
  4. Licensed Internal Code
  5. Hypervisor

Will sums it up at the end:

In summary, the robust IBM i operating system is flexible and long-lived largely due to this layered architecture. When we talk about IBM i, we’re talking about all of these layers in combination. I hope this brief introduction helps you understand the value that comes to you when you run IBM i, and why the IBM i development team continues to work hard to bring you this great integrated operating system.

 Comment on this Post

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when other members comment.

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

Share this item with your network: