Health IT Pulse

Aug 22 2011   12:22PM GMT

Quality reporting standards nearly set for stage 2

Beastwood Profile: Beastwood

Health IT Standards Committee
quality measure reporting

The Health IT Standards Committee is prepared to recommend a set of so-called vocabulary standards for the quality reporting measures required for demonstrating the meaningful use of electronic health record (EHR) systems.

According to Government Health IT, the vocabulary would primarily use three standards:

  • Systematized Nomenclature of Medicine-Clinical Terms (SNOMED-CT) for sharing information about diagnoses and drug interactions;
  • Logical Observation Identifiers Names and Codes (LOINC) for lab and clinical identifiers, and
  • RxNorm for the names of clinical drugs and drug delivery devices.

The committee hopes the quality reporting standards will be applied to stage 2 of meaningful use, which begins in 2014. A choice of standards had been offered in stage 1, but that only made things more complicated for EHR vendors and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT, which receives the quality reporting data from hospitals and eligible providers.

5  Comments on this Post

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when other members comment.

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

Share this item with your network: