Terminated User mailbox

65 pts.
Tags:
BlackBerry
Disabled mailboxes
Exchange security
Exchange user permissions
Exchange user settings
Identity management
How does one pervent a terminated user from accessing their mailbox with a PDA (i.e. BlackBerry) Exchange 2003? 
ASKED: October 2, 2009  9:57 PM
UPDATED: October 9, 2009  2:22 PM

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

Reset the password and disable the user account.

Discuss This Question: 8  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Gedigd
    Mshen, disabling an account where i work doesn't help we are finding users with BlackBerries are still able to read their mail long after their accounts have been terminated in Identity manager thus disabled in AD to boot they are also removed from the address book go figure.
    65 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Technochic
    Do you have a BES?
    57,010 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Gedigd
    Yes, we a BES
    65 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Gedigd
    is there any follow-up to my answer?
    65 pointsBadges:
    report
  • KDubb
    Remove the BES admin account from the mailbox security settings if there.
    115 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Technochic
    Make sure the BES account for that user is also deleted.
    57,010 pointsBadges:
    report
  • tcrean
    We generally disable account, reset password and delete the BES account. If we do not have the BB device returned to us on termination, then we wipe the BB device from the BES.
    10 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Technochic
    Oh good point Tcrean. I forgot about wiping the device! Gediqd, if the disabled users are reading "old mail" already received on their device you definitely should add wiping the device to the steps performed when users are terminated. We do not allow personally owned bb's on our system for this reason. If we did they would have to agree to allow us to wipe the device if they are terminated and people don't like that idea much, so we just do not allow them.
    57,010 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following