static ip is in the spam list
My static ip is in the spam list. What should I do?
Thanks a lot
Looking for relevant CIO Whitepapers? Visit the SearchCIO-Midmarket.com Research Library.
bwaggs | Apr 12 2006 11:48AM GMT
Also, make sure you are NOT allowing mail relay or allowing external servers to relay or bounce email from your server. Otherwise you will surely end up on the list repeatedly.
csmmis | Apr 13 2006 10:40AM GMT
If you are saying your IP has gotten blacklisted, you need to check with your ISP provider. Generally, if it is a small, fly-by-night blacklist (and there are lots of them), your ISP provider won’t do anything. You need to ask anyone whom you email and who uses that blacklist either to not use it, or to whitelist your IP address. If the blacklister is one of the major blacklisting companies, your ISP provider should take steps to get your IP address off the list. This page has some great tools, including a spam database lookup, which lets you check if you are blacklisted, by whom, and includes info about which ones should not be used by anyone: <a href="http://www.DNSstuff.com" rel="nofollow">www.DNSstuff.com</a>
sonyfreek | Apr 13 2006 9:23PM GMT
Your ISP won’t care, plus you can do this yourself. Check to see what lists you are on and check their prcedures for getting off them, but don;’t do any of this until you lock down your Spam relay/confirm tat you are not allowing relays.
Here’s a couple of places to check:
<a href="http://support.internetconnection.net/TECHNICAL_REFERENCE/EMAIL/Checking_if_you_are_Blacklisted.shtml" rel="nofollow">http://support.internetconnection.net/TECHNICAL_REFERENCE/EMAIL/Checking_if_you_are_Blacklisted.shtml</a>
<a href="http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx" rel="nofollow">http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx</a>
<a href="http://www.mail-abuse.com/lookup.html" rel="nofollow">http://www.mail-abuse.com/lookup.html</a>
SF