70 pts.
 SMTP address/ip outgoing
I've exchange server 2003. There is only one exchange server on the environment. All my incoming mails are coming via a gateway device. But i dont knw how my outgoing mails are going. Is there anyway i can see the ip / address of my outgoing smtp server in exchange? In my connector i'm using "based on DNS". If i want to make my outgoing smtp address a specific public ip that is assigned by my ISP how can i do that. Thanks
ASKED: Sep 25, 2009  11:19 AM GMT
UPDATED: September 28, 2009  11:54:27 AM GMT
32,405 pts.

Answer Wiki:
You will need to talk to whoever manages your edge routing or firewall device to find out if they have mapped a public IP address to your SMTP server. It is possible that by default the server just uses network address translation (NAT) to gain access to the internet and send emails. About the only way to see what IP address your server is using to send is to send yourself a message on GMail, Yahoo or some similar account and look at the message headers. The IP address of the sending server should be in the message header. You can then use a tool like that found at this E-Mail Header Analysis website to parse out the header.

In the IT trenches? So am I - read my IT-Trenches blog
Last Wiki Answer Submitted:  Sep 25, 2009  12:22 AM (GMT)  by  Labnuke99   32,405 pts.
To see other answers submitted to the Answer Wiki View Answer History.
Discuss This Question:
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _




 

Check the Exchange System Manager > expand your server then check the settings there.

You should see if you are forwading your SMPT through a gateway from there.

 8,575 pts.

 

Thanks for the support.
This is the exact issue. As i said earlier our mails are coming via a g/w device x.x.x.10 and our outgoing mails are configured to forward mails using the mail server directly which is x.x.x.12. But when we send mails to some of our clients they are getting bounced back message
“< client address>;host smtp2.myonlinedata.net[207.5.72.155] said: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [x.x.x.10] blocked using cbl.abuseat.org; Blocked - see http://cbl.abuseat.org/lookup.cgi?ip=x.x.x.10 (in reply to RCPT TO command) , where x.x.x.10 is the ip of our gateway device which is only for the inbound mails. But this message seems like saying it is going via x.x.x.10 not using x.x.x.12.

But when i check the header as labnuke said i am getting x.x.x.12 which is ip of our mail server and it right but i dont understand why bounce back is specific the ip of our gateway device.
Plz support….

 70 pts.

 

You need to go to cbl.abuseat.org and find out why your email domain is blacklisted. Apparently the receiving organization is subscribing to some type of blacklist and your sending IP or domain is listed there. You can also ask the receiving organization to add you to a whitelist or permit list and that should permit messages to be delivered.

 0 pts.