Removing context menu from IE Favorites

pts.
Tags:
DataCenter
Microsoft Windows
Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Servers
Does anyone know if a group policy setting exists to remove the ability to right-click the Favorites menu in Internet Explorer? I have removed the context menus from Internet Explorer, the Desktop, the Start Menu, and the Taskbar, however, the user can still right-click the Favorites menu and receives the context menu. The goal is to prevent users from placing items from the Favorites list on their desktop using the Send To option. Disabling the Favorites menu, unfortunately, is not an option. Thank you for your thoughts.

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

I believe we limit this by setting the active desktop settings at the user level in our policy. We just enabled “prohibit changes”. This stops any additions to the desktop (well, there are ways(there always seems to be a way to circumvent), but it drastically reduces the ways you can add to desktop)

Discuss This Question: 3  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Harinck
    maybe you can find a tweak for it. Here an adress with many tweaks. I suggest the 'Use Personalized Favorites Menu (All Windows)'. Just try it.
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Darthzakkie
    It all depends on the Server OS as to whether you can even do it.. here's some technet articles that may help.. otherwise, it's a reg hack or tweak... technet.microsoft.com 325342, 274846, 815141, 823057
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Woody2812
    Why dont you create a mandatory profile and point every user account to the profile, this then when they logon will always give them a read only profile and no changes are kept. Regards Woody
    0 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following