Get back to old AS/400 resave level

225 pts.
Tags:
AS/400
AS/400 administration
IBM i 7.1
Hi Team,
We have upgraded our system resave level and now we want to go back to our old resave level. How to get back to the old level?

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

If you have upgraded the operating system from lets say V5R4 to V7.1 you cannot save your data back to V5R4 level.  On your save commands it will only allow you to go back one release level.  Therefore from V7.1 you can only save back to V6.1.  On the save commands (e.g. SAVOBJ, SAVLIB) you can specify the oldest level of the operating system you want to save to.  This also applies to compiling your programs where you can only go back one release level.

Discuss This Question: 5  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.
  • Gayathri123
    Hi RossHowatson,

    Thank you. Our OS version is 7.1 and we have downloaded the recent 7.1 resave levels and upgraded our system to the recent 7.1 resave levels. Now we want to go back to the old resave level. Is there anyway we can do that? Is there any way to restore them alone from tape without full system restore?
    225 pointsBadges:
    report
  • TheRealRaven
    I've worked as a systems programmer in the AS/400 line since summer of 1988 and with S/38 before that. What's a "resave level"? Never run across the term.
    21,845 pointsBadges:
    report
  • TheRealRaven
    Not only never run across it, but I can't come up with a sensible concept. Though @RossHowatson wrote a plausible discussion.
    21,845 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Gayathri123
    Hi RealRaven,

    Please refer the below link for details on resaves.

    http://m.ibm.com/http/www-947.ibm.com/systems/support/i/planning/resave/index.html
    Best Regards,
    Gayathri
    225 pointsBadges:
    report
  • TheRealRaven
    There are two basic ways to return to a system level before a 'Resave' that was installed. First, perform a full system restore from the full system save that you created before applying the 'Resave'. And second, do a clean install from the previous install media, and then restore all user objects and data from your pre-Resave backups.

    A third potential method is to contract with IBM to remove the 'Resave'. I'm not aware that IBM can do it, but you can ask.

    Because PTFs are permanently applied to create a 'Resave', they are no longer eligible for removal. In practical terms, there is no way back. Just as with a release upgrade, the way back is essentially to start over.

    Is there a problem that was caused by applying a 'Resave'? Perhaps any problem has a separate solution.
    21,845 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following

Share this item with your network: