I've received two emails with a message body of "podmena traffica test" from two separate senders. What is this message trying to accomplish? Is it testing a spam application? I've had little luck researching it.
Software/Hardware used:
ASKED:
December 31, 2008 5:12 PM
UPDATED:
January 6, 2009 2:23 PM
i got the same thing.
it was sent from my email address to my email address
in russian this means “traffic replacement test”
I also received the same message (no other body content), also from and to my address, originating from aegeanair.com ([78.110.113.133]).
At least until I flagged it moments ago, gmail did not characterize the message as spam.
I, too, have received this e-mail – from myself to myself.
Podmena foresta test is Russian. I have located a russian gaming website that has both phrases that were in my e-mail – “Let’s meet as usually” which was written in the subject box, and “Podmena foresta test,” which was written in the body of the message.
The gaming website is written in Russian, with Cyrilc characters. I used Google to translate the web page. The game has to do with heros of some sort..
I am trying to re-locate the site, since I did not bookmark it.
There was a forum where one person was complaining to another that someone wanted to start all communiques with the term Podmena Foresta Test. The response was, he must be bored.
Podmena is a term referring to a corrupt or illicit substitution of choice, a political usurpation, one branch of government exercising a too broad dominion, someone forging a document.
So, I don’t know why I received the e-mail or what it means or is trying to do.
Perhaps someone else can find out more.
Oh yeah, one other thing. The message arrived a few minutes before my Blackberry alarm was set to go off.
One other thing – my computer is really on the fritz. My home laptop started to reboot, but got stuck. It then told me that it didn’t recognize the “domain” that was trying to access it, even though it was the same sequence and info that I’ve used with this computer for years.. It could be that our computers have been hijacked, since the message has been coming to us from ourselves.
.
Rk10007, this wouldnt indicate to be related you your comp being on the fritz. I’m getting them on a couple of hosting accounts I have and no systems are compromised here and I’ve spent the last 12 hours confirming that. If you check the headers they will not show that they came from your computer as it would indicate your IP address. Look in the second received header in your email messages and check the IP they’re originating from. You will need to know how to look at headers in your email client. Examples I’ve gotten have originated from an IP in Turkey and now one on ahora.net in Korea.
Thanks folks! It’s on my school email so I’ll be sure to contact the admins. I’m so used to having email headers hidden I forgot to check that out. Doh! So much for transparency. =b I’ll update if I find out anything more. Thanks again!