Outlook 2003 – “Do not deliver before” option – does not work when Outlook is closed

0 pts.
Tags:
Exchange security
Microsoft Exchange
Outlook has the option of deferring delivery of outbound messages by using the "Do not deliver before <date> <time>" option. This option has been present for quite some time now and I have used it in the past. In previous editions of Outlook 2000 and XP, when this option was used along with Exchange Server 5.5/2000, the mail would be taken out of the Outlook outbox and placed within the Exchange Server queues and would be automatically delivered by Exchange at the specified date and time. Whether the sender Outlook was connected or not. With Outlook 2003, it appears that MSFT has changed the implementation. Now the mail sits in the Outlook Outbox and only uploads to the Exchange server at the specified future date and time. Many times, I need to compose a message and send it at some time in the future, fully knowing that I will not be in the office that particular day. Also since the future delivery mails are sitting in my Outbox, every time I close Outlook, I get the "Mail still in Outbox do you still want to exit" message. Is there any solution around this ? I want to upload my mail to Exchange and let it handle the deferred delivery. Thanks in advance Kind regards Devesh
ASKED: September 5, 2005  4:05 AM
UPDATED: October 6, 2005  11:13 PM

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

Hi,
did you work in Exchange Cache mode?
If so, disable the cache mode und it will work like XP or 2000

Discuss This Question: 1  Reply

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Pdpjp64
    Even though you see it in your outbox it will still be delivered. The Outbox is part of your mailbox within the mailbox store on the server. When you disconnect from the server, the message is still there waiting to be sent. If you are working in Cache/offline mode, the message will be there while you are not connected, but it is online an offline copy, not the original. The original is still on the server and will be delivered at the time specified. When you reconnect it dissapears from your Outbox not because it is getting sent at that moment, but because your offline/cache is syncing up with the mailbox on the server that no longer contains the message, This makes it appear to you that the message is only being delivered at that time.
    0 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following