Lock down settings root folder on Windows Server 2003

1110 pts.
Tags:
Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Root Domain
Windows Server User Profiles
Can we lock down the documents and settings root folder on Windows server 2003? We do not want users to be able to view all users on the system.

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Discuss This Question: 4  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Guardian
    This is an odd one, note sure is the actual drive shared? Which is not recommended. Why not just share the folders you want that reside on the local drive.
    900 pointsBadges:
    report
  • ErroneousGiant
    I think that you will struggle to do this as users need write persmissions to this folder to create/use their profiles. The useres certainly shouldn't be able to access any files or documents in other users folders. You may be able to do this using folder redirection to shared network resources however I think you would still need access to the original locations for this to work as well.
    3,120 pointsBadges:
    report
  • ErroneousGiant
    Also they should only be albe to see the users that have logged onto that specific machine not all the users on the domain.
    3,120 pointsBadges:
    report
  • ErroneousGiant
    P.P.S You can use scripts to remove all user profiles from a machine during startup. This would remove any information from the documents and settings folder so there is nothing for users to see.
    3,120 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following