iSeries from V6R1 to V5R3

35 pts.
Tags:
AS/400
IBM
iSeries
System i
V5R3
V5R4
V6R1
I was wondering if anyone in test or through force, had ever gone from V6R1 to V5R3 / V5R4 on an iSeries / System i / AS400? Although I know reloading the slic would be possible and then to save everything at VxRxMx and do the restore...but I wanted to know if anyone had done this and how they reloaded system config / journals / other information particularly in a production environment (i.e. not just an empty partition)?
ASKED: April 3, 2009  2:14 PM
UPDATED: April 6, 2009  10:24 AM

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

Hi,

Just out of curiosity – why would you want to do this?

Regards,

Martin Gilbert.

Discuss This Question: 3  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • MNF123
    Well I best be careful what I say but the company I am with is going from V5R3 to V6R1 while the main application hasnt been signed off by the vendor at 6.1 compliant (not going to say the app, otherwise people could easily guess). But IBM have said they will do the upgrade, however they have missed so much so far and screwed up the only restore they did do on the test box. Anyway IBM have said that if they notice a problem after say 2 weeks, they should be able to put them back to the old box and V5R3. I have personally done a V6R1 upgrade so am fairly aware of the amount of work/planning etc, I just think IBM are joking...anyone out there who has dealt with them will know full well they will simply play the blame game...however I just wanted to know if anyone had had to do this, because personally I think the amount of work to take it back is not a simple process and would likely take as much planning as the upgrade itself...
    35 pointsBadges:
    report
  • mshen
    Make sure you take a full system save. That will backup all the data that you need to restore your server to a previous state.
    27,385 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Gilly400
    Hi, I tend to agree with you on this MNF123, I think the amount of work involved in downgrading is going to be much more than upgrading. I think you're also going to be much more likely to come across unexpected problems during a downgrade process. I would, of course take a full backup like Mshen suggests, but I would also want all sorts of guarantees in writing from the boys in blue before I'd take this sort of risk and I'd also want my management to be very aware of the situation and give their backing before going down this route. In short, keep your back covered... Regards, Martin Gilbert.
    23,730 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following