Is it possible to remotely wipe a phone inadvertently while modifying active sync settings?

Tags:
active sync settings
Exchange 2010
remote wipe
My phone was remotely wiped and our system admin claims that it happened when he modified our active sync settings. I received an Outlook email that the remote wipe had completed successfully. Is it possible for this to happen?

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

Anything is possible.  To remote wipe a phone from the management program you have to hit a “clear” option twice.  Changing settings using a command shell is more likely since he may not have fully understood what the “Clear-ActiveSyncDevice” command would do.  He may have honestly thought he was clearing the settings and not the email.

Are your inbox emails hosted serverside?  Even if your device was remotely wiped your emails should repopulate your device if you were to reconnected it to the exchange server.

Discuss This Question:  

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following