how to untick “mark each selected Exchange Mailbox for deletion”

pts.
Tags:
Active Directory
Exchange security
Microsoft Exchange
Hi, I am trying to delete the user account from Active Directory by right click on user and select delete. I get the option "mark each selected Exchange Mailbox for deletion" but it is disabled and by default it is ticked. I want to untick this option so I can keep the mailbox for longer time. Can someone please advise me how to enable this option so I can untick "Mark each...deletion" box. We have Exchange 2003 with SP2 and am trying to delete a account but don't want to delete the mailbox. I know even after deleting the account,I can keep the mailbox for 30 days but I want to keep the mailbox for unsure time. we have Windows 2003 service with sp1. Can someone please help me on the above issue.. Thanks

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

I don’t know how to do what you are asking but our practice is to disable accounts instead of deleting them when we want to keep the email. This has worked well for us.
rt

Discuss This Question: 4  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Bsingh10
    Hi All, We also disable the account but we want to remove all disabled account now from AD as we have lots of disabled account but we want to keep their mailbox with us. Anyone else can help in this please? Thanks
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • BIGFella
    You cannot have an exchange mailbox without an active directory account, as a mailbox is just an attribute of the user object (within the AD schema). If the user object is deleted the mailbox is inaccessable unless it is reconnected to another user account without any preassigned exchange attributes. Personally I think it is an oversight that MS have set this to be displayed, it should be clearly defined as a notification message and not a disabled option. When a user account with a mailbox is deleted, it is disconnected from the user object and marked for deletion as per the exchange server policy's (i.e. deleted mailbox retention time period, and mailbox management management intervals). So you have 3 options: - 1) disable the user account only and prevent any new mail being sent or recieved from the account (mailbox limits set to zero). 2) Delete the user account, the exchange mailbox wil be set to disconnected (and not accessable), IMPORTANT!! set the mailbox store, "keep deleted mailboxes for (days): set to a max value of 24855 days. 3) Archive the e-mails off using some form of archive utility, either into .PST files (and burn to CD/DVD) and then delete the mailbox or a 3rd party mailbox archive software to archive to optical tape or disk that will be kept aslong as necessary.
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Bsingh10
    Thanks for your answer in details but this does not reply to my original question about how to untick "Mark each selected Exchange Mailbox for deltetion". Do you see this disabled at your exchange server too? Thanks for your knowledge sharing and I really appreciated your time taken for this but if you could answer my original question, that will be great. I know alternatives as your specified but I don't have a space to create pst files from mailbox, don't know when I will delete mailboxes in future but want to get rid of user accounts. That's why I want to keep mailboxes forever until I reconnect it with other user. Thanks anyway.
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • BIGFella
    OK to simply answer your question you cannot enable this field...! it is just a notification message (that in my eyes) is miss-displayed as an apparent option when it just should be a simple peice of text, as the fact that there is a tick box implies that you can enable/disable it, again you cannot do so, this is why I went on to discuss AD objects, and ways and means of keeping hold of the data. I am curious as to why you say that you do not have the space to archive the messages off on to .pst files, can you not spare 4Gb temprorarily to create a .pst file (office 03/07 format) before moving it to a DVD for archiving (free'ing up the 4Gb on your HD)???
    0 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following