How to remove the two unnecessary Desktop in Blackberry Phonebook Option?

750 pts.
Tags:
BES
BlackBerry
BlackBerry Address Book
We are currently migrating our BB users from other BES to our own BES.. Upon doing the migration, we used to back-up their blackberry then will perform the security wipe before we restore the files then re-activate to our new BES. After the completing the activation, the user complaint regarding his phonebook because of the duplicate entries.. We checked the cause and found out that the Desktop in phonebook options got doubled. We tried to delete it but we got no luck. Please help

Software/Hardware used:
Blackberry
ASKED: May 19, 2010  9:10 AM
UPDATED: May 20, 2010  3:34 AM

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

When you restore the phone, do not select the phonebook,. The phone is most likely pulling addressbook information from your email environment and the restore is apppending new “duplicate” data.
his is what I had to do when we migrated from Exchange to Domino. After the first 3-4 phones, I just skipped the restore portion. There was no need to restore anything since we use roaming profiles in Domino and the user has access to their Notes address book via BES.

Discuss This Question: 1  Reply

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • jhamn
    Hi justty, that's our problem. sometimes our user tends to wirelessly synchronize their phonebook and sometimes they dont.. We tried not to restore the phonebook prior to activation of their blackberry with a thought of it will automatically sychronize once completed.. However after such, we'd found zero entry which leads us to turn off the wireless sychronization then restore the address book and reactivate the unit again. Once it is completed, the desktop in phonebook options got doubled and so some of their address book entries..
    750 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following