How to remove a workstation from the domain but not the network?

50 pts.
Tags:
Active Directory
AD
Domain
Network
Network administration
Workstations
I am using an older machine for our driver's lounge. They only need it for internet. So I need to keep it on the network, but remove it from the domain. I cannot allow these users access to our domain. My problem is that I have removed this machine form our domain and added it to a work group, and for a n hour or so they do not have access to the domain. But when I go back and check they suddenly have access again. I have even manually removed this workstation form AD. I have no idea why it is still allowing the user access to our domain. Can someone Please help me!
ASKED: October 29, 2008  12:28 PM
UPDATED: November 18, 2009  2:08 PM

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

Although the computer is not part of the domain, they will have access to resources on domain computers/servers if they have a valid domain user account and know its password.

If you have not done so, remove the domain user account they used when the computer was part of the domain.

Reboot the machine, so the users will be asked for credentials when trying to access a domain resource.

Hope this helps,

Discuss This Question: 3  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Dwiebesick
    I would use Microsoft's Windows SteadState http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/sharedaccess/default.mspx This is what we use for public kiosk enviroments, library computers, or anywhere you want to lock the computer down. Its free and works well. Give it a look and see if this would work for you. If computers are on the 'same wire' (shared infastructure) they have tend to auto discover each other. You can try and prevent some of this. One setting you can use if open Windows explorer | Tools | Folder Options | View | and uncheck Automatically search for network folders and printers box. Let us know how it goes dmw
    2,235 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Brilliantstudent001
    hi,i just want to know that how can i remove workstation from the network ????
    10 pointsBadges:
    report
  • carlosdl
    Brilliantstudent001, you should create a new question, and provide as much details as possible about your query.
    65,110 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following