How to do a global change of names in a security dir!

10 pts.
Tags:
Security
Windows Server 2003
Windows XP
a staff member was given the job of creating a new security dir and moving the data from the old to the new. what he did was to delete the user and they chould not log in, create a new login for them we are using microsoft 2003 server, under XP pro. anyone know how to globaly move user data from one dir to another"? thank............................

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

There is a GUI option for Robocopy, though the CLI works just fine as well. For more information on the GUI, review the following article <a href=”http://www.microsoft.com/technet/technetmag/issues/2006/11/UtilitySpotlight/”>http://www.microsoft.com/technet/technetmag/issues/2006/11/UtilitySpotlight/</a>.

*** End update ***

there is a program I believe is called Robocopy. it will move the data to another place and also keep the security that was on it in place. then just change the AD account to point to the new directory. yes it has to be done when they are not logged in or they will start receiving a lot of errors and the copy will not work correctly because of open files.

Discuss This Question: 2  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Wrobinson
    Yes Robocopy is an option, as is xcopy and xcopy32. You can review both options at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/289483.
    5,625 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Wrobinson
    You mention a user being deleted and created again, which would generate a new SID for that user. Depending on when the original delete took place, you may be able to recover the original deleted user. That would clear up risidual resource assess issues in the environment for that user. You may want to review the following MSKB article on how permissions are handled during file and folder copy and move operations to see exactly which applies to you in this instance, and help you better determine how approach this effort http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310316.
    5,625 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following