Are your client mailboxes directly connected to the exchange server or using POP3? If POP3 you can set it so a copy is left on the server. If directly connected, then no. Some archiving solutions will copy the mailbox to a separate archive server which the user cannot delete mail from. Our organization uses one of these archiving solutions. But that of course has a cost.