Exchange 2003 Public Folder Replication

pts.
Tags:
Microsoft Outlook
If an instance of a public folder on one server is empty and on another server, it has data, is it possible for the folder with data to be overwritten by the folder that is empty? Same name, of course. All servers involved are Exchange 2003 running on Windows 2000. Angie Johnson

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

Teorically the an empty folder doesn’t erase the data in the one which includes data.

Discuss This Question: 3  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • AngieJ
    Theoretically, yes, but, unless one of the 2 users who have rights to the folder just deleted everything in it, leaving the empty folder, that seems to be what happened. I wanted to find out if anyone else has encountered this problem before I report back to our user. Thanks, Angie
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Petroleumman
    Hello Angie, Am I safe to assume that you have Public Folder replication setup between two Exchange 2003 servers and that the contents of one store has been deleted? If this is the case, your going to want to either restore the contents of the original public folder store from the replica or force manual replication from the original store to the replica to re-write the deleted store.Of course you could wait for the scheduled replication cycle to occurr, but forcing it is much faster. Since replication is designed to create redundancy (for purposes just as you've described) it would be safe to say that the empty folder will not delete content from the populated folder during a replication or restore process. Good Luck!
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Mfppub
    If one of your users who had rights to that public folder deletes everything in it, then yes, the replica of the public folder on the other server will also have the data deleted from it when replication occurs.
    0 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following