Entourage

5 pts.
Tags:
Entourage
Mac OS X
When I quit Entourage, a box appears saying "Deleting Items" - I am wondering what it is deleting?

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

It is simply emptying the deleted folder on the schedule that is set. If you want to change it or just to know how it works here is some good information:

The Deleted Items folder should be emptied on regular basis to help preserve your account quota and to keep your account organized. For more information about account quotas, refer to Account Quotas. There are several options available in Entourage for deleting items; the best option for you will depend on your personal working style.

* Emptying Deleted Items with a Schedule
* Emptying Deleted Items upon Demand

return to topEmptying Deleted Items with a Schedule

Entourage allows you to set up a schedule to empty your Deleted Items folder. In this example, instructions on how to empty the Deleted Items folder upon exit will be shown. The mail that will be deleted upon exit will be all mail in the Deleted Items folder that is older than 5 days old.

1. From the Tools menu, select Schedules
The Schedules dialog box appears.
schedules dialog box
2. Verify that Empty Deleted Items Folder is selected
NOTE: A checkmark appears next to the option when it is selected.
3. Double click EMPTY DELETED ITEMS FOLDER
The Edit Schedule dialog box appears.
Edit Schedule dialog box
4. From the When pull-down list, select the desired option
EXAMPLE: Select On Quit
5. In the Action section from the pull-down lists, select the desired options
EXAMPLE:
1. From the Action pull-down list, select Delete Mail
2. From the from pull-down list, select Deleted Items
3. In the older than text box, type 5
6. Click OK

Emptying Deleted Items upon Demand

If you are using Entourage throughout the day to send and receive messages or update your calendar you may want to clean up your space as you work.

Emptying Deleted Items: All

1. From the Navigation pane, click MAIL Mail button
2. In the Folders list, press [control] and click DELETED ITEMS » select Empty ‘Deleted Items’
A confirmation dialog box appears.
3. Click EMPTY

Emptying Deleted Items: Selected Items

1. From the Navigation pane, select MAIL Mail button
2. From the Folders list, click DELETED ITEMS
The contents of the Deleted Items folder appear.
3. To selecting a group of contiguous messages
1. Select the first message to be deleted
2. Hold down the [shift] key
3. Select the last message to be deleted

OR

To select a group of non-contiguous messages
1. Select the first message to de deleted
2. Hold down the [command] key
3. Select the next item
4. Repeat steps b and c until all messages to be deleted are selected
4. Click Delete button

Discuss This Question:  

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following