Deny Permission for other users to Open Other User’s Folder – Outlook 2003

25 pts.
Tags:
Exchange 2003
mailbox rights
Outlook 2003
Permissions
How do you 'deny' permission for other users in the same Organizational Unit in Exchange 2003 to view/open other users folders in Outlook 2003?
ASKED: March 4, 2008  8:20 PM
UPDATED: March 5, 2008  1:23 AM

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

unless the person whose folder that is being opened has granted rights to the person trying to open it they should not be able to. By default, Even if that person is an exchange admin.

This is called am implicit deny. The only way a user could access another user’s mail or other exchange folders is if they delegated control to the other user or an exchange admin gave the access to the second user.

***buddyfarr***
not by default if the person is an exchange admin. I have those rights on our server and can access any and all user’s inboxes etc, without them granting me access to the folders.
***/buddyfarr***

Discuss This Question:  

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following