How do I delete deletion stub in Lotus Notes?

740 pts.
Tags:
Lotus Domino
Lotus Domino 7.x
Lotus Notes
Lotus Notes administration
Lotus Notes permissions
How do I delete deletion stub history in lotus notes

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

At first, this answer does not seem logical – but because of that I will explain in detail.

<b>To clear deletion stubs, first discover how many deletion stubs there are. </b>

1. Open the Admin Client.
2. In the Server > Server Console window, Issue the command <i>show database databasefilepath.nsf</i>
3. Document the output. The number of deletion stubs will be very near the top.
Note: Sizes of built views will also be displayed.

<b>Now make changes that purge the deletion stubs.</b>

5. In the Database properties, edit select the Replication Settings > Space Savers tab.
6. In the top section called “Remove documents not modified in the last (days)” there is a checkbox that is blank. IMPORTANT NOTE: DO NOT PUT A CHECK IN THIS BOX.
7. Document the number in the box in this same line of the dialog window.
8. Change the number to 0. This value is now changed, but it has not taken affect on the application.
9. Exit the Database properties. Ensure no other database views or documents are open in other Workspace tabs.
10. Click on a different database icon, then back on the database. Do this several times. Thes access actions should force the new zero-days purge interval to evaluate and deletions stubs will be removed.
11. In the Admin Client, issue show database command again. TIP: If you have not closed the admin client in the intervening steps, this command will still be in your list of recent commands.
12. Document the output. The Deletions stubs value should be 0.

<b>Restore the Purge Interval</b>

13. Edit the Space Saver tab of the Replication settings and change the “days” value back the amount you documented in a previous step.

NOTE: Any documents that were previously deleted in this replica, but still exist in other replicas of the file, will come into this file the next time replication occurs.

<b>Other information about IMPORTANT NOTE, above.</b>
[from SilkTool]
If you do check the box, any document that has not been modified in the last whatever number of days listed WILL BE DELETED – this is not what you want to happen. The number on this selection has a two-fold purpose. When it is checked, it deletes documents that have not been modified in that number of days. OTHERWISE, the number is used to calculate the purge interval, which is what the server uses to purge deletion stubs. How that interval works is this:

You take 1/3 of the number set on this value (we’ll use 90 since that is the default), so 30 days, and add it back to the number – so 120 days. So the purge interval is between 90 and 120 days. So when the purge process runs, any deletion stubs that exist that are between 90 and 120 days old will be purged.

Hope that makes sense, if not, let me know and I will explain further.

Discuss This Question: 4  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Yahoo12
    Will it delete from history only or parmanent from database
    740 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Stiletto
    I seem to remember an instructor telling me the following (a long time ago): When you delete a document, the next time a compact is run, the document will actually be removed, leaving behind a deletion stub. The next (second) time after that that compact is run, the deletion stub will be removed. Was the instructor (or my memory) wrong, or have things changed over the years?
    4,050 pointsBadges:
    report
  • SlikTool
    @Stiletto - I believe compact is involved, but deletion stubs only get purged by the purge interval. As I explained in my initial answer, though I did forget 1 detail, the purge interval is calculated from the number setting in the Replication settings (in the answer above). What I forgot to mention is the rate at which purges occur. That is also based on the 1/3 calculation. So, using the default of 90 days, every 30 days (1/3 of 90, thus the interval), deletion stubs that are 90 - 120 days (the 90 days plus possible 30 day interval) old will be purged from the database. So for example, if the purge happened today, and a deletion stub of 89 days of age was not purged, next interval it will be 119 days old, so it will be purged because it is between 90 - 120 days old. @Yahoo12, Brooklynegg added some very good information to this discussion - and the replication issue does exist. If this database has more than 1 replica, I would purging the stubs is important - then purging from all replicas is important. Thus, I would disable replication for these databases, set the purge interval to 0 on each one, then reset the value to a more appropriate value (30 is the minimum I go with, 90 seems to work for most situations), then restart replication and the deletion stubs should be gone.
    1,840 pointsBadges:
    report
  • fcomorais
    It Works !!!
    10 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following