Deleted items dissapear from users mailbox with Exchange and Outlook

342785 pts.
Tags:
Email
Microsoft Exchange
Outlook
A question emailed to us For the past 4 months I have one user whose deleted items continues to be deleted on a continual basis. The folder will only house 2 week’s worth of items and everything else is just gone. There are no restrictions on the mailbox, no recipient policies in place, and no mailbox rules (that I can see) installed on his client. He swears to the highest levels of heaven that he has no other instances running remotely that check mail -- just a bit skeptical about this. He is convinced that this is something server based that is waxing off his deleted items, but I've showed him every setting known to man. Two weeks ago we did a migration to more powerful Exchange servers and he was sure that this would alleviate the issue -- nope. Problem still exists. The only thing that I can see out of this entire configuration is that he is a hybrid user -- i.e. Mac/VM instance of Windows, iPhone, had a BlackBerry at one time, and MacBook while he is on the road. BlackBerry was lost some time ago, so we removed his account from BES. Mac/VM instance of Windows is his primary mode while he is in the office, but could not find any rules that would bushwhack mail from deleted items. Mac Mail for Leopard isn't working for him, and it would be the same for his Macbook. So this leaves the iPhone and possibly elder versions of Entourage that he has run prior to updating to Leopard. I know that there have been issues in the past with these particular clients working with Exchange, but can anyone think of any other process that might be removing his mail and only keeping 2 week’s worth? Again, I've been stumped by this and my explanation of "it's not something on the server" isn't working any longer. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

this is normal in outlook. you might have already checked the setting though. right click the deleted items folder and go to Properties then to the Auto Archive tab. this is where the deleted items folder is set to auto delete or auto archive items in the deleted items folder.

Discuss This Question:  

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following