Rajasekhar15, first of all, why do you want to delete the history of a job from the log? I think that this does not conform to I.T. best practices since history log serves as audit trail to check on previous job activities, now if you intend to remove it, what’s your purpose? is it to hide something or remove evidence that something “fishy” was done?
Please elaborate your position on the question you are raising in this forum.
I total agree that people dont delete logs and this logs need to be kept if there is any security issue. Being an as400 admin the last thing you should do is to delete those logs
Which “log” are you trying to modify? Note that you cannot clear the entries for a job from the system audit ‘log’ (the system audit journal) without deleting all receivers that received entries from or about the job. Records can be deleted from the history more or less just like any other physical file, but it can cause minor problems.
And as others have noted, it should not be done. Tampering with system history can be serious.
Should have been “Records can be deleted from the history log more or less…”. The system history log consists of the QHST message queue plus the files named QHSTxxxx in QSYS.
just asked, is there a way to do it, if so how can we do it,
QHST is a PF so you can delete rtecords as you would with any other PF if you are authorized.
There is no QHST file. There are files called (for example) QHST11303A. As has been said, you may if you are sufficiently authorised delete records from such a file. Then you would probably have to reorganise the file, since any auditor could see that there were deleted records in it.
We have a couple of jobs that generate great quantities of Job xxx started and Job xxx ended. They served no purpose and really cluttered up our QHSTxxx files. Periodically we delete these messages.
One thing we learned is to never delete the first or last record in the file. That seemed to break the chain from file to file. As long as we leave the first and last records in place, we can delete anything in between without problems.
If you do not reorg the file after the delete, you can use one of the tools that retrieves deleted records in case your auditors pitch a fit.
Make sure you save them before you make any changes to them.