Configure PC5250

20 pts.
Tags:
DataCenter
When I set a user to access the Iserie thru PC5250, I always select "Use Windows User name" and put a checkmark on the options "Avoid duplicate names". When I click on the icon, it will create a devd type 3477 with the name USERA1; a second session will create USERA2, etc... These devd are created with option: Online at IPL *NO. So after an IPL, the devd USERA1 & USERA2 are not available anymore, therefore the system create USERA3, A4, etc. It ended up that I now have 15-20 devd created for each users. Is there a way so that the devd would be created with option Online at IPL *YES so that it can be reused after the IPL??

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

I have PC5250 with same configuration, devd are ipl *no but there are no more devd than max connexion.

There is something strange, but in my opinion, don’t search on ipl(*no), it is correct.

Have you call your IBM support ?

Discuss This Question: 3  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Hmonat
    JP, What will happen when you'll reach the maximum number of devices?? I haven't call IBM yet, I guess that will be my next step if there is no other alternatives.
    20 pointsBadges:
    report
  • PeterJS
    I may be stating the obvious, but have you checked that the default for the ONLINE parameter on the CRTDEVDSP command is set to *YES?. If it is set to *NO then run: CHGCMDDFT CRTDEVDSP ONLINE(*YES).
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Hmonat
    Peter, yes the default for online at IPL on the command is set to *YES. That's a good question though, I had'nt check it before you mentionned it. So that mean there is something that change it to *NO when it is created thru Iseries Navigator?!?!
    20 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following