Changing the server name of the database in Lotus Notes Client

15 pts.
Tags:
Lotus Notes
Lotus Notes client
Lotus Notes client applications
Lotus Notes Workspace
Hi, I will be migrating some Lotus Notes applications from one server to another server. This will involve the users using the Lotus Notes Clients to open the database again in the new server. Is there a way to change the server name in the Lotus Notes applications on the Lotus Notes Client workspace so that it will not involve the users? Thanks!

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

This is the full answer, from IBM Technote. ND 8 has a solution. Scroll to the bottom of the page. Also, there is a utility for at least some other versions.

<a href=”http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?rs=475&context=SSKTWP&dc=DB560&dc=DB520&uid=swg21094781&loc=en_US&cs=UTF-8&lang=en&rss=ct475lotus”>link</a>

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?rs=475&context=SSKTWP&dc=DB560&dc=DB520&uid=swg21094781&loc=en_US&cs=UTF-8&lang=en&rss=ct475lotus

There are “ways” to do this. However, it depends on your current environment. For example, the servers involved (the current and new servers) are they appart of a cluster? If so, there is an easy way to do it. Make a replica on the new server, and then put the database on the current server (old server – whatever) to “out of service”. This will force users to fail over to the new one. Is that possible in your situation?

Mike Kinder

To mark a database “out of service,” follow this procedure:
1. In the Server pane of the Domino Administrator or the Web Administrator, expand All Servers or expand Clusters.
2. Select the server that contains the database you want to mark “out of service.”
3. Click the Files tab.
4. Do one of the following:
>In the Task pane in the Domino Administrator or the Web Administrator, select the folder or view that contains the database you want.
>In the Task pane in the Domino Administrator only, expand Cluster Directory (6), and then select the view you want.
5. In the Results pane, select the database or databases you want.
6. In the Tools pane, expand Database, and then click Cluster.
7. Click “Out of service,” and then click OK.

Discuss This Question: 4  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Brooklynegg
    I am updating SilkTool's answer with the Domino Administrator client steps from Notes Admin Help. SilkTool: Thanks for posting this tip. I never knew this was possible. I understood the cluster and failover behavior, but didn't know you could force it with the OOS function. Very Cool!!
    3,845 pointsBadges:
    report
  • SlikTool
    Thanks Brooklynegg, glad it helped someone. I have read many of your posts and have found a few tidbits as well. Thanks for supporting the best community in IT. Mike Kinder LinkedIn Profile
    1,840 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Bcc
    If your server can't be made part of the cluster (as was the case for me), we wrote a small code snippet to change workspace icons when they clicked on the database. Place this in the database script, postopen event. This is moving the "How_To.nsf" database from the "FooBar"server to the "Newserver" server: @If(@LowerCase(@ServerName)!="cn=foobar/o=org";"";@Do( @PostedCommand([FileCloseWindow]); @PostedCommand(
    50 pointsBadges:
    report
  • How
    Thanks Brooklynegg and all others! We have successfully completed the migration without much problem. What I did was to write some formula to a button on the email and sent to everybody. Once clicked, it will check whether the user had accessed to the database based on the database's ACL. Then it will remove the existing database icon and add the new one. The drawback was the user had to confirm in order to remove the iron. @Command([WindowWorkspace]); REM "Check if the user has access to the database first before do adding and removing the database"; REM "Remove all old database icon first"; @If(@IsError(@UserAccess(Server_New:Database_Name)); Return ; @If(@TextToNumber(@Subset(@UserAccess(Server_New:Database_Name);1)) > 0; @Do(@If(@IsError(@Command(
    15 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following