Last week, a big problem occurred at out data center: The physical server, upon which was hosted VMware and eight logical servers, reset itself. When we rebooted the system, we noticed that all data was wiped out. The logical servers were operational but data was gone. We called VMware support, and their explanation was that VMware had reverted to the previous snapshot, which was a year old. Now all the user data is gone. I have two questions:
1) In Windows environments, a snapshot is about saving the configuration environment, and not about user data. Returning to a previous configuration does not mean returning to the state of user data that existed when that snapshot was taken. How come that in a virtual machine (VM) environment, user data gets wiped out when an old snapshot is activated?
2) Is there any means of recovering lost user data?
July 29, 2008 8:02 PM
February 3, 2009 2:32 PM