Automatically wipe the backup tape before a job runs

9,860 pts.
Tags:
Backup
Backup and restore
Brightstore
Tape Backups
Windows Server 2003
Windows Server 2003 Backup
automatically have the drive wipe the tape before beginning the backup job? We run into full tapes if someone forgets to erase the tape

Software/Hardware used:
windows server 2003
ASKED: October 14, 2010  5:35 PM
UPDATED: January 3, 2011  5:02 PM

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

You may need to either select “Overwrite Same Media Name, or Blank Media First, then Any Media” or do a pre-run job prior to the start of the backup. You may need to utilize the ca_devmgr command line utility.

Discuss This Question: 4  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Karl Gechlik
    [...] 1. Aguacer0 took a swing at one user’s question about automatically wiping the backup tape for a Windows Server 2003 job runs. [...]
    0 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Davidmichel
    Most just use the Overwrite option to let the job overwrite the tape automatically. However if you really want to erase the tape prior to the job you can use either ca_devmgr -erase or ca_devmgr -cherase, depending on if it is a stand alone driver or a library. This can be run either via the Job Scheduler Wizard or as a Pre command added to the job.
    570 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Stevesz
    It sounds like the backup jobs are set to append rather than overwrite. If you use an append option, it will continue to add backups until the media is full. If you tell the job to overwrite, it will overwrite what is already on the media with the new data. You do not mention what you are using for software to perform your backups. the terminology of setting this up does vary some from one piece of software to another. I have one server here that we run a full backup, and then several incremental backups. the last incremental is set to eject the tape when done. Where tape is being used, we normally set it up to eject the tape at the end of the job. It is a visual clue that the tape needs to be changed, and that work already saved it not overwritten before its time.
    2,015 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Karl Gechlik
    [...] 9. Aguacer0, Davidmichel, and Stevesz give some feedback on a member looking to automatically wipe the backup tape before a job runs. [...]
    0 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following