After deleting a message, the next message automatically opens up

15 pts.
Tags:
Lotus Notes
Lotus Notes 8.x
Lotus Notes configuration
How can I stop this from happening?

Answer Wiki

Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.

I love that feature in Notes! Unlike Outlook, you can quickly go through your inbox and clean it up by pressing either Enter or Delete as appropriate. Saves many mouse clicks.

Nonetheless, you have some options in Notes. Option 1: Press Esc when the next message opens. Option 2: Read your email in the preview pane rather than opening it in a separate window. Select all the documents you want to delete by placing a checkmark in the selection column, then press the Delete key.

Discuss This Question: 5  Replies

 
There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.
Thanks. We'll let you know when a new response is added.
Send me notifications when members answer or reply to this question.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
  • Davidtav
    Outlook has given the user both options for many years. In Outlook, by default, the closing or deleting a message displays the next message. In Tools/Options the user can choose to "Return to Inbox". In Notes, there is no option for the user - other than "just do it this way". "Read your email in the preview pane rather than opening it in a separate window." isn't really an acceptable answer...
    10 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Drsparty
    Is there a way to disable this "feature"?
    10 pointsBadges:
    report
  • Gabe9527
    I would just like to point out what you are stating is not acceptable is the standard approach for internet based email systems too.
    11,005 pointsBadges:
    report
  • BruceWayne
    Check in your Preferences (File menu), you will find an option to disable it
    4,110 pointsBadges:
    report
  • ntpntpntp
    Sorry, but where is the option to disable this functionality?  I'm running the browser version of Notes 8.5.3.  I can't see an option which relates to this?

    I find this automatic opening of the next email very annoying, when the following mail is one I'm keeping as marked unread for dealing with later.

    Never used to happen with the older version of Notes used by my company.
    10 pointsBadges:
    report

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

To follow this tag...

There was an error processing your information. Please try again later.

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Thanks! We'll email you when relevant content is added and updated.

Following