You can cancel this process. If you cancel you will need to manually delete the temp files that the compaction was creating. Your original database is completely intact and can be mounted again until you reach the point where the ESEUTIL is copying the completed DB over the original or in your case after you have renamed the original.
I have canceled compactions with no negative consequences.
So the answer is a Big YES! You can cancel an offline defrag without consequence.